How do I report a work injury in Michigan?
Giving notice of a work injury and why waiting too long can backfire on your workers’ comp claim.
Did you get hurt on-the-job in Michigan? Make sure to give your employer notice within 90 days or you could miss out on substantial workers’ comp benefits. This include lifetime medical care, lost wages, and vocational rehabilitation.
Starting a workers’ comp claim might not have even crossed your mind. Michigan law protects individuals hurt on-the-job and they cannot be fired or demoted for asserting their legal rights.
Notice can be oral so simply telling a supervisor or manager is usually good enough. Inaccuracy in stating time, place or cause does not render notice automatically invalid. However, we still tell our clients to fill out a company accident report and keep a copy for their records.
The accident report form should be a simple document. We tell our clients to resist the temptation to write a self-serving account and just stick to the facts. Make sure to include time, place, and cause.
Employers use late notice to dispute claims all the time. This is considered a “red flag” and will be unfairly used against a person! Waiting even 1 day can be fatal to a claim.
It is also important to seek prompt medical attention. Make sure to explain to the doctor how you got hurt and give a complete medical history. This will be important evidence should your claim get disputed.
Do not fall into the trap of thinking you will be fine the next day and waiting. Contact an experienced workers’ comp lawyer if benefits are not paid.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today
or visit our website http://www.workerscomplawyerhelp.com/
This content has been taken from http://www.workerscomplawyerhelp.com/blog/2017/03/how-do-i-report-a-work-injury-in-michigan/